JCCC Candidate Forum

Today JCCC and the League of Women Voters of Johnson County sponsored a series of candidate forums for the spring 2009 elections.

This forum was set up differently than in the past. The logistics of securing all 10 trustee candidates on campus at one time and trying to coordinate questions and answers to us would have proved unsuccessful and demanding on the viewer. Instead, two candidates were paired up for a mini-forum. All five pairs were asked the same questions.

Well, After some confusion about the schedule and who was going to be paired with whom, Peter Jouras and I took the first position. Stephanie Sharp (who I kinda blasted in my last post) agreed to stay with her paired partner, Benjamin Hodge (whom I’ve also blasted). They took the second position.

But I have to say that it wasn’t really fair to Ben because Stephanie watched my segment as it was taped. Therefore, she knew the questions beforehand. I don’t know because if they told Ben or not, I had to get to work in the library.

I found myself anxious during my segment, not because I didn’t know what I was going to say but rather because serving the college as a trustee means so much to me. I’m discovering, it means a lot to students as well. This was my opportunity to speak for students and I wanted to do right by them.

JCCC will host the videos online beginning March 23. The college’s TV channel will air them beginning March 22.

The college channel is hosted on the following providers:

  • Time Warner of Overland Park (Ch 17)
  • Comcast of Olathe (Ch 22)
  • SureWest (Ch 17)

My segments will air on:

  • Sunday, March 22 and March 29 @ 1 pm
  • Tuesday, March 24 and March 31 @ 3 pm
  • Friday, March 27 and April 3 @ 5:30 pm
  • Saturday, March 28 and April 4 @ 12:30 pm

Read the entire schedule here

When the video goes live on JCCC’s video server, the will be link on my sidebar “CLICK HERE!”—>

Comments Off on JCCC Candidate Forum

Filed under JCCC, Trustees

Comments are closed.