JCCC Icon to Return

Another Lap for ‘Walking Man’

Walking Man (On the Edge) - Borofsky

Walking Man (on the Edge) - Borofsky

Johnathan Borofsky’s Walking Man (On The Edge) will return to the rooftop of the Commons Building at Johnson County Community College.

The college has scheduled for the sculpture to be reinstalled at 1:30 p.m. Monday, June 15.

Walking Man has been absent from his prominent position overlooking the campus since Oct, 7, 2008, when he was taken for refurbishing.

“What does it mean to be on the edge, pushing our limits of knowledge, exploration, finding something new? Striving implies looking for answers. I think that’s something we’re all doing in our lives, trying to learn more. With learning comes the challenge of the unknown and the tension of that.” – Borofsky in an interview with The Kansas City Star, Oct. 20, 1995.

Walking Man (on the Edge), 1995
Fiberglass and steel, 72 x 60 x 24-inches
Jonathan Borofsky
Installed atop the Commons Building at Johnson County Community College, Overland Park, Kan.

2 Comments

Filed under JCCC, NEWS, The Ledger

2 responses to “JCCC Icon to Return

  1. Parkhurst

    I think you’re getting carried away by your own ambitions. I’ll probably bow out of my service to students in another year. I”ll then have many accounts and opinions of my 40 years service to students. At this point, I would not relate those to you.

  2. I’m sure there’s some significance to this comment but I don’t even know what it means …