JCCC Candidate Hodge’s Meltdown *UPDATED*

Update April 4, 2011: Darla Jaye contacted me via Facbeook to ask me to remove this post. She contends the information was not meant for the general public but for a select few. I have declined to remove the post as I did not come by the information illegally and due to what I consider the newsworthy nature of the information.

I’m just going to let this email thread speak for itself …

miguel

———————–
from Anne Hodgdon
to Miguel Morales
date Thu, Mar 31, 2011 at 4:17 PM

subject Endorsers abandoning Ben Hodge

Hi Miguel,

Nice to make your acquaintance.

This all began a week ago tonight.  In a nutshell, Hodge showed up at the Olathe Republican Party meeting, and instead of using his time to speak as a candidate to promote himself (as Darla points out below) he instead used his time for a diatribe against Sen. Julia Lynn (who had just spoken) – calling her a liberal Senator, which is far from the truth.  The reason for that venom was that Julia had allowed her name to be listed on Greg Musil’s short endorser list for his postcard.  The attendees were very embarrassed, because she’s much loved in Olathe, and although I was not there, I heard the story from several others who were.  After his speech, as he was walking away and back into the crowd, Julia put her arm out to shake hands with him, showing much dignity, I think.  Instead of shaking hands, he smacked her hand away in a gesture to indicate he didn’t want to shake hands.  After getting calls from several people, all telling me the same story, I put a posting about it on Facebook, which got many responses in favor of Julia and against Hodge.  (If you are on Facebook, Friend me and you can read it for yourself – some 28 or so comments.) While Hodge is not my FB Friend, he nonetheless learned about it and had a meltdown on his FB page (others have copied his commentary into emails for me – it’s ugly), expanding the “liberal corps” to include Julia, myself, and Mike Egan (Mike is a conservative activist).  As a result, someone (not positive who) withdrew his support for Hodge, and the letter at the bottom of this string is Hodge’s stinging retort to whomever withdrew his support.  That person forwarded Hodge’s email to Mike Egan, Mike sent it to me, and I saw he’d called me a liar.  The rest, as they say…. is history.

In addition to what’s included below (Darla Jaye, Kansans for Life PAC), there are a couple additional endorsers who have abandoned ship since yesterday afternoon – and they would be Currie Myers, Sen. Rep. Mike Kiegerl, and the NW Johnson County Republican PAC.  Sen. Kay O’Connor and Patricia Lightner still avidly support Ben (no surprise there), but there are a scant few others.

You have my permission to forward………..

Anne


From: Anne Hodgdon
Sent: Wednesday, March 30, 2011 5:19 PM
To: ‘MICHAEL T. EGAN’; ‘OWEN DONOHOE’; ‘DARLA JAYE’; ‘KAY O’CONNOR’
Cc: ‘JULIA LYNN’; ‘BOB HODGDON’; ‘ERNIE STRAUB III’; ‘MARY KAY CULP’; ‘CATHY A MC DONNELL’; ‘NANCY HANAHAN’; ‘TRACY THOMAS’; ‘JUS4SMK’; Ray Merrick; ‘CURRIE + BERNADETTE MYERS’; ‘MIKE PIRNER’; Alen Siegfreid’; ‘Mary Pilcher-Cook’; ‘LANCE KINZER’; ‘ANTHONY BROWN’; ‘Kobach, Kris W.’; ‘John Altevogt’

Subject: RE: the ben hodge trifecta!

You all received the response from Mary Kay Culp concerning the fact that the Kansans For Life PAC was not going to endorse Ben Hodge, due to his lack of temperament for public office.  That decision was reached prior to receiving my email.

Similarly, Darla Jaye had come to her decision to withdraw her support from Hodge on her own late yesterday, but didn’t notify him until this morning, so again, prior to my email.  Darla has authorized me to share with you a copy of her message to Hodge, sent to him as a private message on Facebook, and which he has acknowledged but said he ‘wouldn’t take it seriously’ (whatever that means).

Darla Jaye March 30, 2011 at 1:07pm 

Subject: This is what I sent to Ben

I am waiting for the hate mail to begin. Feel free to share with the group. I am also going to post on FB today, that I can no longer support him.

Darla

Darla Jaye    March 30 at 11:03am

Ben,

I have thought long and hard about this, talked to several people who supported you and no longer do, and told you that Anne and Julia are good friends of mine, yet you continue to bash all that question you going after Julia verbally at last Thursdays forum, and have come to the conclusion that I no longer can support you.

You have sent nasty emails to everyone that contacted you about the events of Thursday night, and I just can’t support that! I don’t understand why you took the time you had to explain to the audience why they should vote for you, and instead went after Julia?!

Has she been perfect as a conservative? Absolutely not! But, what the hell does she have to do with your race for JCCC Board? NOTHING! Is it good that she endorses Musil? No! But your behavior that night, and all these days later, has turned many people against you. I can’t figure out how that is a good campaign strategy?!

No matter how angry you might be at me, I want you to remove any and all things that have to do with me, my robocall from your page, and anything you might campaign with for the next several days, until the election!

I am sorry that this happened, but I honestly don’t understand why you didn’t send out a message apologizing for what you said last Thursday. People would have appreciated your apology, and would have continued to support you. But you didn’t.

I have seen all the emails you have sent to people who decided not to support you, and am hoping I won’t get one of the same.

Darla

Anne Hodgdon


From: Anne Hodgdon
Sent: Wednesday, March 30, 2011 10:02 AM
To: ‘MICHAEL T. EGAN’; ‘OWEN DONOHOE’; ‘DARLA JAYE’; ‘KAY O’CONNOR’
Cc: ‘JULIA LYNN’; ‘BOB HODGDON’; ‘ERNIE STRAUB III’; ‘MARY KAY CULP’; ‘CATHY A MC DONNELL’; ‘NANCY HANAHAN’; ‘TRACY THOMAS’; ‘JUS4SMK’; Ray Merrick; ‘CURRIE + BERNADETTE MYERS’; ‘MIKE PIRNER’; Arlen Siegfreid; ‘Mary Pilcher-Cook’; ‘LANCE KINZER’; ‘ANTHONY BROWN’

Subject: RE: the ben hodge trifecta!

I could make a quip about this, such as being proud to be in the same company with Julia and Mike…. but I want to make a point clear to each and every one of you (and you have my permission to forward this message to everyone you know)………

I MAY BE MANY THINGS.  BUT ONE THING I AM NOT IS A LIAR.  I KNOW OF NO ONE WHO HAS EVER CALLED ME A LIAR, BECAUSE THE ABILTY TO LIE IS NOT IN MY DNA. If ever I get myself in trouble, it is because I am TOO BLUNTLY HONEST.

I raised my children with an almost daily mantra, “Character is measured by how you behave when no one is watching.”  My life, my very sense of being, revolves around a few common themes:  be honest, not just to others but to yourself; be ethical – there are no grey areas when it comes to ethics; and help others who are in need.

Ben Hodge is a deeply troubled and disturbed young man.  He has no ‘filter’ — emotional or verbal – when someone does not agree with him, let alone takes another position without even maligning him personally – as Senator Julia Lynn did in agreeing to give Greg Musil her support for the non-partisan community college board.  Hodge’s uncontrolled style is to lash out with the venom of a rattlesnake.  Prior to the meeting of the Olathe Republican Party when he verbally assaulted Senator Lynn, she had done nothing more than give her name to Greg Musil for his postcard…! She had not campaigned against Hodge – all she did was allow her name to be used by another candidate, one of three who will be elected.  AND YOU HAVE SEEN BEN’S RESPONSE, not just in his abhorrent public behavior at the Olathe Republican Party meeting, but also in his meltdown on his Facebook page and emails such as this one below which he has been sending to people who have parted company with him over the past five days or so as the result of his behavior.

I hate to put it so bluntly, but blunt is my style. PLEASE BE ADVISED THAT ANYONE WHO ENDORSES OR SHOWS SUPPORT FOR THE VERY TROUBLED BEN HODGE FOR JCCC TRUSTEE SHALL NEVER AGAIN HAVE MY SUPPORT …….PERIOD. To me, supporting Ben Hodge equates to flawed judgment; and I do not support people with flawed judgment. Those who have already endorsed him perhaps did so because they were not fully aware of just what a disaster he was and would be again to the JCCC Board of Trustees.  In light of Hodge’s recent behavior, I am appealing to those people, that they publicly withdraw their support for this emotionally unqualified candidate.

Respectfully,

Anne

Anne Hodgdon


From: MICHAEL T. EGAN
Sent: Wednesday, March 30, 2011 9:17 AM
To: OWEN DONOHOE; DARLA JAYE; KAY O’CONNOR
Cc: JULIA LYNN; ANNE HODGDON; BOB HODGDON; ERNIE STRAUB III; MARY KAY CULP; CATHY A MC DONNELL; NANCY HANAHAN; TRACY THOMAS

Subject: the ben hodge trifecta!

the “three proven liars” trifecta! anne hodgdon, mike egan, + julia lynn!

all,

this is just another example of why ben hodge is not mentally capable of serving in an elective office.

please immediately withdraw your endorsements and urge him to seek treatment in another state.

thank you.

michael t. egan.

MICHAEL T. ( MIKE ) EGAN


From: Ben Hodge

Date: Wed, 30 Mar 2011 03:16:39 +0000

To: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Subject: have you called Ted Lockwood

xxxxxx,

After you demanded that I have people who were at the Olathe Republican Party meeting call you, I complied, yet you only apparently gave one of them the respect to talk about the issue at hand – Kay O’Connor.  The last I was told, you have not called back Ted Lockwood.  All three were present, and strongly support me.  Ted Lockwood’s wife is a candidate for Olathe Schools (she was also present at the meeting).  And Yvonne Starks told me that you kept changing the subject, when she talked to you on the phone.

You complained to me, as if it was my fault, that you had talked to “25 people” about the meeting.  I’m highly doubtful that many were actually present.  I consider it likely that many of them heard an account from three proven liars – Julia Lynn, Mike Egan, and Anne Hodgdon.

Why have you taken so little time trying to find out about truth?

And why do you support the following things:

1.  False accusations of assault.  This is what Julia Lynn, Anne Hodgdon, and Mike Egan tried to do.  You’re a former law enforcement official, for crying out loud, and you’re defending the false accusation of assault towards another person!

2.  Vote selling.  This is what Julia did two years ago, to John Vratil.

3.  Voting for abortion, and a complete Democratic agenda.  Again, this is what Julia Lynn did two years ago.  It’s also what she’s doing right now, through her endorsement of Greg Musil.

4.  The intentional half-truth of Julia Lynn, as she tells conservative audiences that “John Vratil needs to go,” without telling them that she is one of the most important reasons why Vratil is still in leadership.

You owe me an apology, xxxxxx.  You didn’t even try to demonstrate class.

Ben Hodge

3 Comments

Filed under facebook, JCCC, Kansas, NEWS, Trustees

3 responses to “JCCC Candidate Hodge’s Meltdown *UPDATED*

  1. paulasayles

    “…calling her a liberal Senator, which is far from the truth. The reason for that venom …”
    This makes me laugh so hard, I can barely read any further. THE HORROR!
    ROFLMFAO

  2. Pingback: Hodge’s JCCC Endorsement Carnival | TRUST MIGUEL

  3. Pingback: Darla Jaye Wants JCCC Unendorsement Post Deleted | TRUST MIGUEL