Former JCCC Chef Passes

Former JCCC Chef Tim Johnson

Former JCCC Executive Chef Tim Johnson

I heard of Chef Tim’s death from a friend on Facebook. I was taken aback since JCCC recently lost another favorite, Fred Krebs.

I immediately checked Chef Tim’s Twitter account. He’d Tweet the lunch menu featured in the college’s eateries: Down Under and Cafe Tempo. But there were no clues, nothing to verify his passing. Then this morning a post appeared on the JCCC electronic mail server, Infolist:

Sad news: Tim Johnson, former JCCC executive chef, dies
     Tim Johnson, former JCCC executive chef, died Monday, Jan. 15.
     Visitation is from 4 to 7 p.m. Sunday, Jan. 20, at McGilley State Line Chapel, 12301 State Line Road, Kansas City, Mo. A rosary will be said at 7 p.m., following the visitation, with time for sharing starting at 7:30 p.m.
     A memorial Mass is at 11 a.m. Monday, Jan. 21, at St. Peter’s Catholic Church, 815 East Meyer Boulevard, Kansas City, Mo.
     An online guest book and obituary can be found here.

When Chef Tim first came to JCCC, he dove into our sustainability effort by working to help create the Sustainability Expo and Dinner.

That first year, Chef Tim worked with the video production department to create a video to be shown at the Expo/Dinner. Chef send an email to the campus asking for people who had “farm stories.” I sent him an email saying I was a former migrant farmworker and though it may not be a cheery story fitting in with what they were trying do to, I’d be happy to share it. Within moments, Chef Tim replied saying he’d love to include it.

Unfortunately, I was going out of town and couldn’t make it on the day they filmed. Every so often, usually when the Expo/Dinner rolled around, we’d send emails trying to coordinate something where I could come and share my story but it never got beyond that stage. I appreciate that he never forgot about it and that he seemed to have the utmost respect for farmworkers.

I regret not making the time to meet him in person to shake his hand.

From the press release Johnson County Community College – Executive chef has a flair for food:

At JCCC, [Chef Tim] Johnson is involved in the college’s sustainability efforts. He holds a sustainability dinner and expo each year, at which people can meet local providers and vendors and enjoy a feast of local foods. He also starts a community-supported agriculture (CSA) market at JCCC, through which faculty and staff can enjoy fresh produce and locally made products throughout the summer.

Johnson’s resignation as JCCC’s Executive  Chef came in the December 12, 2012 board packet.

But if Johnson resigned in November, why was his JCCC Twitter account still active? And why was it posting messages two days after his death?

3 Comments

Filed under facebook, Infolist, JCCC, Kansas, Latino, NEWS, sustainability, Trustees, twitter, YouTube

3 responses to “Former JCCC Chef Passes

  1. Aneal Vohra

    Miguel—   Another somber day at the college with Chef Tim Johnson’s sudden passing.    I only knew him casually, and I didn’t know about his resignation.   Unlike Professor Krebs’ “Franklin” video profile that I only had in the planning stages, I’m very happy Jason Bennett & I included Chef Johnson and his commitment to green issues in our “Sustainability & Expo Dinner” Ledger video profile.   I’m planning to attend the Sunday afternoon visitation services.   Aneal Vohra JCCC Student

    ________________________________

  2. cameronfletcher

    Wow. He was a nice man. I remember when I was station manager at ECAV we had a remote broadcast in dining down under and I got to spend the day with chef Tim. He was great. Sad to hear. Thank you for letting me know aneal

    Aneal Vohra wrote:

    > > >Miguel— >  >Another somber day at the college with Chef Tim Johnson’s sudden >passing.  >  >I only knew him casually, and I didn’t know about his >resignation. >  >Unlike Professor Krebs’ “Franklin” video profile that I only >had in the planning stages, I’m very happy Jason Bennett & I included Chef >Johnson and his commitment to green issues in our “Sustainability & Expo >Dinner” Ledger video profile. >  >I’m planning to attend the Sunday afternoon visitation >services. >  >Aneal Vohra >JCCC Student > > >________________________________ > From: TRUST MIGUEL >To: anealvohra@yahoo.com >Sent: Thursday, January 17, 2013 10:48 PM >Subject: [New post] Former JCCC Chef Passes > > > WordPress.com >Miguel M. Morales posted: ” Former JCCC Executive Chef Tim Johnson I heard of Chef Tim’s death from a friend on Facebook. I was taken aback since JCCC recently lost another favorite, Fred Krebs. I immediately checked Ch” >

  3. HI Miguel…most likely you still see the menu re-tweets because Tim was following JCCC Tweets…and they simply were showing up or being retweeted through Tim’s personal account. He doesn’t/didn’t have an official JCCC Twitter account, rather he identified with JCCC & used the college info on his personal sight; and as such, likely his family would need to unfollow or deactivate Tim’s account (if they even have access to it) – not a college function.

    I’m sure that Jay Glatz with Dining Services will see what can be done to minimize the confusion…